11/09/2018 h. 09.00 - 14/09/2018 h. 19.00 Warsaw University of Technology, Pl. Politechniki 1, Warsaw, Poland


The Nanosmat conference series has rapidly grown and spread in Europe, Asia and Usa. Nanosmat is actually well established as a premier conference in the field of materials related nanoscience, engineering and nanotechnology. It fosters the gathering of talented and truly international people belonging to academia, industry, or other public, or private, institutions, with the aim to exchange novel ideas, share new knowledge and technical know-how in the broad fields of nanoscience and nanotechnology.

Since its starting, Nanosmat is characterized for being the first truly cross-disciplinary conference where scientists coming from many different Countries and having different expertise in chemistry, physics, engineering, medicine, biology, can strongly interact to each other, discussing about science at a top-level in an informal and friendly atmosphere. This is certainly one of the most peculiar aspect of the Nanosmat conferences which, on such an original ‘recipe’, still remaining almost unique and inimitable, have founded their enormous success.
A further evidence of the level of excellence achieved by the Nanosmat conferences is provided by the participation of Nobel Laureates as Harold W. Kroto (Florida State University, Usa), Jean-Marie Lehn (Universitè de Strasbourg, Collège de France, Paris, France), Albert Fert (Unité Mixte de Physique, Cnrs, France), and Andrei Geim (University of Manchester, Uk) who, at these meetings, delivered memorable plenary lectures. It should be noted that Harold Kroto, since the first edition, has been a passionate scientific promoter of the Nanosmat conferences which he enthusiastically supported all the time. In order to honour international scientists for their special contributions, Nanosmat has established 4 main prizes:

1) Nanosmat prize: it is to recognize and honour ’senior’ international scientists (from the age of 45 up to 65) who have shown, during the course of their professional career, outstanding achievements in the fields of nanoscience and nanotechnology;

2) Nanosmat award: being the same in nature as the Nanosmat prize, it is dedicated to international scientists up to the age of 45;

3) Kroto award: this prize, established in memory and recognition of the extraordinary contributions of late Harold W. Kroto (Nobel Prize in Chemistry – 1996), is devoted to young scientists (PhD, PostDoc, Junior Scientist level) who, in spite of their younger age, have already shown excellence in the field of nanoscience and nanotechnology in the early stage of their professional career;

4) Nanosmat medal: established this year, it recognises exceptional individuals whose recent outstanding achievements and discoveries, in the past ten years, have played a major role in enabling specific, key breakthroughs to occur and to impact and advance the progress of Nanoscience, Nanotechnology, Nanomedicine and Commercialisation of Nanotechnology.

Finally, this year, the 'José Gracio Student Awards' have been established that are in memory of the late José Gracio (University of Aveiro, Portugal) who was one of the founders of Nanosmat conference. Nanosmat Organization is offering 10 student awards each year mainly for worthy PhD students to attend and participate in the Nanosmat conference and the Nanosmat School.

Since 2005 Ismn-Cnr co-organizes the conference.

Organized by:
The Nanosmat Society (Uk)
Warsaw University of Technology, Warsaw, Poland; Ismn-Cnr: Sede 'Sapienza' c/o Dipartimento di chimica, 'Sapienza' Università di Roma

Giuseppe Fierro
c/o Dipartimento di Chimica, Ed. 'V. Caglioti' - 'Sapienza' Università di Roma, Piazzale Aldo Moro, 5 - 00185 Roma
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

registration link:

web site:


Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok Decline